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The Interference Line of Thinking
  

	Refereeing is a thankless but necessary task. It always helps to know the rules, and to use the correct calls, but the real 'nitty-gritty' is what you do when one of the players appeals for a let. Below is a summary of the thought process a referee should go through when asked 'Let Please'...


The Question ... The Answer ... 
1. Did interference occur ? 
The striker has four basic rights, and interference has occurred if the opponent fails to provide him with any of these, even if he has made every effort to do so: 
· Unobstructed direct access to the ball 
· A fair view of the ball 
· Freedom to hit the ball 
· Freedom to play the ball directly to the front wall 
If no interference has occurred, then it's NO LET, otherwise move on to no.2
2. Could the obstructed player have reached the ball and made a good return ? And was he making every effort to do so ? If either answer is NO, then it's NO LET,
otherwise move on to no.3
  3. Did the obstructing player make every effort avoid the interference ? If he didn't, then it's a STROKE,
otherwise move on to no.4
  4. Was the obstructed player in a position to play a winning return ? If so, then it's a STROKE,
otherwise it's just a LET 
Remember though, that this is a simplification - read the rules thoroughly. 
The over-riding principle of the rules is to ensure a fair result for both players.
